Coloring Stained Glass Paper

The first week of July I had two workshops in my hometown of Buffalo, NY. I knew I was going to have some first time stampers, so I wanted to have a project that everyone could feel comfortable with, coloring! The new Graceful Glass Vellum paper combined with a set of Brights markers was the perfect thing.

I found that my personal preference is to color the paper on the smooth side but place it on the card so that the shiny, ridged lines are facing out. To me, that results in the best stained glass effect, milky colored glass and shiny dark lines separating the panes. I also like to mount my colored vellum onto a identically sized piece of whisper white to really get those colors to show through.

20180708_204843_0001

For this card I then mounted the vellum and whisper white unit onto a piece of 2018-2020 in-color card stock, and used another 2018-2020 color ink to stamp a sentiment from A Big Thank You on the same color cardstock, which was then punched out with the tailored tag punch. Finally, I added a faceted dot and popped the whole piece up with dimensionals.

This project and especially the vellum paper turned out to be a huge hit! I loved seeing what interesting unique projects resulted from everyone’s different creative uses of color. See the side bar or my about page for how you can place an order for the supplies you need to make this card. Don’t forget to subscribe to my blog and sign up for my newsletter to get exclusive content delivered straight to your inbox!

2 thoughts on “Coloring Stained Glass Paper

  1. Pingback: 29 WOW! Picks from My Pals Stamping Community! | Stampin' Pretty

  2. Pingback: Birthday Card for My Dad | Craft Stamp Create

Leave a comment